Soooo I’ve been a bad blogger.  A poor pontificator.  A sorry soliloquizer.  I can offer up all the usual excuses, such as “I’ve been busy,” or, “Life gets in the way,” or, “I stepped in a really big wad of gum on the sidewalk, got stuck there for approximately one month’s time, and was finally rescued by the derring do of Scooby Doo and his goofy troop of teenage sleuths.”  But all those would be mistruths, half-truths, or deliberate efforts to disguise my sense of shame with glib humor.

But good news!  I have been hired!  As a substitute teacher at several schools!  And it is the pursuit, achievement, and fulfillment of this grandly exciting thing that has occupied much of my time.  I am literally pleased as punch to be in the classroom in whatever capacity (as long as it’s not as a human Kleenex dispenser).

The rest of this post will be dedicated to a bit of Nerdom that I find particularly enjoyable.  If you read my previous post on Minecraft, you are familiar with how much of a fan I am of it.  Well, today I bring you a video of a multiple choice question I made in Minecraft using circuitry and all kinds of other things unfamiliar and intimidating to an English major.  When I become a bonafide, dyed-in-the-wool, card-carrying teacher of English, I’m going to try to implement some sort of game mechanics in my classroom similar to this in order to teach grammar concepts.  Think of it!  Making grammar kind of fun!  And exciting!  Pie in the sky you say?  Well, I beg to differ:

 

Apologies for the snuffly bits and weird throat-clearing; I’m battling something akin to a head cold.  But yay!  Conjunctions!  I’m thinking of building entire levels that would test students’ knowledge of grammar, vocabulary, and even literature.  Levels could even be book-themed.  Imagine a Harry Potter level set in Hogwarts.  Or a Lord of the Flies Level set on a deserted island.

If you’re interested in all this stuff, I suggest you check out minecraftedu.com.  It’s a really cool modification of vanilla Minecraft that allows teachers to do some awesome educational things with the game.

And FYI: I am aware there is some debate over whether “therefore” is technically a conjunction, but for the purposes of this video I didn’t consider it a conjunction.

Have any ideas of how something like this could be implemented in an English classroom or other academic discipline?  Let me know!  Tell me your ideas so I can be inspired by them and (tactfully) steal them–giving you full credit of course!

